Puncak Penulisan Temple is made up of 11 terraces and one of the 5 temple buildings; Pura Ratu Penyarikan, Pura Panarajon, Pura Ratu, Pura Daha Tua and Pura Taman Danu are the other temples. The striking features of this temple are the bales containing ancient stone statues and a lingga dating back to the 11th-13th centuries, including Queen Mahendratta.

At 1745 meters over sea level, the Puncak Penulisan Temple is located about 3 kms from Kintamani or 30 kms from the capital city of Bangli regency, on the East side of the road that leads to Denpasar or Singaraja.

Based on the old Balinese manuscripts, it has been said that Bukit Penulisan is also referred to as Bukit Tunggal, since its location extends from west to east, separating the island of Bali into two parts, North and South.

The Temple of Tegeh Koripan was built around the IX century on the summit of Bukit Penulisan and it is commonly referred to as Pura Puncak Penulisan, since it is at the peak of Penulisan Hill. The temple, located on a hill, has several terraces, including 11 terraces.

These terraces show how the pyramidal continues from the cultural aspects of the megalithic era. It is also a complex called Pura Danu and Pura Taman Danu, situated on the third, Pura Ratu Penyarikan on the fourth terrace, on the western side of the temple. On the west side of the 1611 terrace is the 4th complex, Pura Ratu Daha Tua. Pura Panarajon is the last or fifth complex located on the east side of the summit. Compared to the four former complexes, this complex is the highest.

Inside the temple complex, visitors will find stone – made statues and the remains of megalithic culture are believed to derive from ancient Balinese era.

WA +62 8123-969-077
Scroll to Top